Tags

,

You can fry them but I prefer to put then in the oven.

This is how I make rösti potatoes, it’s dead easy and quite quick too.
I leave the skins on my potatoes, seems a bit daft peeling off all the nutrients.
I grate them up into a bowl and then squeeze out the excess liquid, I grate mine by hand, apparently if you do it in a food processor it makes the potato too wet and also means even more washing up.

Add half a grated onion, some chopped herbs, salt and pepper and give it a good mix up..

I usually make four largish ones, but I suppose they could be made smaller, in fact that’s an idea for next time, weeny rosti!!

You can fry them but I prefer to put then in the oven.

I use a decent glug of oil in my roasting pan, heat it up and then spoon mounds of potato in to it..

Put them into a hot oven and cook for about 10 minutes before turning them over, you can flatten them down if you like..

Turn them a few times and when golden brown they are done..

and there you have easy peasy rösti..

I have made these using parsnips too, and they are just as nice.

Weeny rösti:

 

I made some more rösti, this time round I made 10 small ones, they are just as lovely..

IMG_5189

