Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I think Nigella Lawson is great, I know you either lover her or hate her, but I really like her recipes, after watching the first episode of her new series  Nigellissima, I had an idea to adapt her Meatzza from an Italian dish to something a bit more spicy and came up chillizza. 

I lightly combined the minced beef with some diced peppers, onion, chillis, chopped herbs and spices (I used chilli, paprika, cayenne pepper, cumin, flaked chilli, oregano  and garlic powder) and an egg,  piled it onto the only round dish I possess ( A flan dish) and popped it in the oven for about 10 minutes..

I then took it out and added some strained tinned tomatoes ( I didn’t want them too wet) to which I’d added some more spices and some chopped parsley and then  half a tin of refried beans (admittedly it doesn’t look very appetising at this point, but refried beans are yummy) put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes, took it out, heaped it with grated (hard) mozzarella and Port salut (I used that because that’s what I had, but cheddar or monteray Jack would work just as well)

then melted the cheese a bit and there you have it, chillizza..

I served mine with an ‘salsa’ of diced tomato, peppers, red onion, avocado and cucumber some chilli flakes and lime juice and a big handful of corn chips..

It turned out really well..

(In retrospect I think I could have significantly improved the presentation of this dish with the addition of fairy lights in the background, although with my photoshopping skills perhaps I can add a  bokeh effect…)

Thanks Nigella, next week I’ll be trying out your Tuscan chips..

