Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This was one of those Sunday night Mother Hubbard dinners..

I wasn’t doing my weekly shop until the next morning, so I had to make do with what I had left.

I had a poussin in the freezer, The ‘Remarkable duck people’ at Gressingham Duck   do a spatchcock poussin in a four pepper seasoning, Tesco have been doing a long term deal of two for a fiver, which is not to be sniffed at, so I buy a couple and freeze them, they are handy to have when you need something simple and they are also very, very tasty birds…

So, with that, a packet of feta cheese and a few bits left over in the fridge.

Mother Hubbards chicken.

I cut the poussin in half, added some season-all, a sprig of thyme and a knob of unsalted butter and stuck it in the oven.

Then I put on a few potatoes to boil, I had some purple ones left over and made up the amount with a quartered Maris Piper, while they were still firm I took them off the boil, drained them and left them to cool.

I diced up some left over peppers and mixed them into some cous cous with some freshly chopped herbs, butter and some Moroccan  seasoning.

Then I made a sort of salad with the remaining tomatoes, cucumber end, half an avocado, red onion and feta cheese, a splash of oil, some fresh basil leaves and a sprinkling of parmesan dipper.

When I served it up, the potatoes were still warm so I added chopped red onion, parsley, ground black pepper and a dollop of mayo..

I had a pitta bread in the freezer and a few stalks of watercress left, and it made a very nice dinner indeed..


Herbs.

I always have herbs on my window sill, you can but pots of them at the supermarket all year round, they are cheap and handy to have, don’t take any effort, save’s traipsing out into the garden when it’s pissing down and they also look fab on a miserable, grey afternoon..

Anything can be transformed into something special with a big handful of something or other green and herby..

