Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Toad in the hole

I don’t make this very often because it’s a bit of a faff, and if the batter isn’t quite right, then I end up with stodge and shocking indigestion..

I use The Black Farmer sausages because they are gluten free, don’t have any unidentifiable white bits in them and are actually just really nice.

I put them into a shallow, non stick dish with some oil and cooked them for about 10 minutes, and got on with the batter.

The Batter

There are loads of recipes on line with claims of how to make the perfect batter, but there are only a couple of rules to remember really, equal quantities of flour, eggs and milk, a hot oven and a temptation not to peek before it’s ready, actually that’s 3, but whose counting…

I used a jug to measure my ingredients, it makes it far simpler.

150 ml milk (use full fat milk)

150 ml Plain flour

150 ml Eggs (the average egg is about 52 ml)

a pinch of salt

Sift the flour, beat in the eggs and then add the milk until you have a smooth batter, it needs to be quite thin or it’ll just be too heavy, I strain mine just to ensure it’s really smooth.

I took my  sausages out of the oven, ensuring the fat was viciously hot and carefully poured over the batter and put it back in the oven, which was at  210°c.

Don’t open the door before 20 minutes is up, no matter how tempted you are, or the batter will probably just sink, cook until golden brown.

Serve immediately, I made onion gravy to go with mine and had it with mashed potato and mushy peas..

In case you are wondering, I only used 5 sausages because because Mr 5 kinds only wanted two, so I saved the other one for stuffing at a later date..


