Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is not really a classic beef stroganoff, I don’t use sour cream or lemon juice, but the addition of wholegrain mustard makes a nice variation and still gives it that slight aciditiy, I really like it, so that’s good enough for me and it’s quick too.

Beef stroganoff

I like to serve mine will wild rice, but long grain rice is just as good.

  • I finely diced my onion, sweated it off in unsalted butter, and then added sliced button and chestnut mushrooms.

~
  • Next into the pan went the strips of quick fry steak.

~
  • then I added some brandy and a dollop of whole grain mustard.

  • I added a pot of double cream to mine, although single cream or creme fraiche would do just as well and then let it reduce and thicken..
~

and there you have, ‘not quite’ beef stroganoff.


