Tags

, , , , , , ,

So it’s that time of year when stews, casseroles, soups and comfort food in general  start to make an appearance at dinner time, where did September go, I blinked and suddenly we are half way through October with no sign of an Indian summer.

Liver is one of those things that I find find most people turn their noses up at,  I use lambs liver, it doesn’t have quite a strong flavour as pigs or calves liver, and makes a really nice and quick alternative to a slow cook casserole and as long as you don’t over cook it, it’s really, very nice.

Liver and onions

I started off by dredging the liver in flour.

Then I fried off the onions and added some bacon and fried that too.

(I set aside some onion and bacon to crispen up in the oven as a garnish later)

Took the onions and bacon out of the pan, added a slug of oil and then put the liver in to fry quickly.

I made sure it didn’t stick or burn on the bottom of the pan by turning it over a few times, then I slowly added some beef stock and stirred it into the flour to make a thickened sauce and added a glug of red wine for flavour.

I put the onions and bacon back in the pan and stirred it all together.

Then I added a couple of drops of gravy browning to give it a nice rich, dark colour.(I wouldn’t be without this stuff, it’s so handy)

Left it to cook gently for a while while I sorted out the mashed potatoes and vegetables..

I served it with some extra onions and bacon I’d crisped up in the oven.

It was delicious..

