Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I have a confession to make.

Sometimes I use a packet mix, eeek, shock, horror!!
But as this is a “what I had for dinner blog” and not a recipe blog, it really doesn’t matter if I did, I don’t think anyone is going to tell me off are they?
I knew I didn’t have time to faff about preparing this dish, so it made sense to take a short cut.

So this is Beef bourguignon, courtesy of Colman’s.

I cut up my meat and marinated it in red wine with a star anise and ground black pepper over night.

I put it into my Le Creuset along with a few button mushrooms and onions and a few sprigs of thyme and parsley.

Then I added the made up packet mix and a bit more wine.


I stuck it in the oven at 125°C  for 4 hours.

When it was done, I fished out the herbs and I served it with dauphinoise potatoes and green beans.

It was beautiful, the potatoes just made it, the recipe for the Dauphinoise can be found here..

(I always have a pack of ready made yorkshire puds in the freezer because you never know when you’ll need an emergency gravy mopper upper and they only take 4 minutes, so we had a couple of those too.)

