Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I use smoked mackerel fillets in my recipe

As far as I’m concerned Mackerel is the tastiest fish ever, it’s firmed fleshed, oil rich and really meaty..
It doesn’t matter if it’s simply grilled and served with a salad or smoked, out of a tin and on wholemeal toast for lunch, so these fish cakes, in my opinion are not only dead easy to make but far nicer than anything shop bought..

Smoked Mackerel fishcakes

I use smoked fillets for my recipe.

I roughly chopped up the fish, a big handful of watercress, rocket and baby spinach leaf salad

and mixed it up with some mash, I use instant mash for this and have a tub in the cupboard specifically for fishcakes, you could make some mash but for the sake of a spoonful this is just as good and is far speedier.

I didn’t season mine, I don’t think it needs it. I formed them into round, well fish cake shapes.

Egg and breadcrumbed them and put them in a hot roasting tin into the oven for about 8 minutes.

Flipped them over and cooked them for another 10 minutes.

and there you have it, speedy, tasty mackerel fishcakes.

I served mine with a simple feta cheese salad.


