Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The instruction were relatively easy to follow. 

While I was rummaging about in my local asian supermarket looking for some new spices to buy I came across the packet mix section and found this…

so I bought it, like you do. The big lumps are dried plum.

Bombay Chicken Biryani

The instruction were relatively easy to follow.
I had to soak the rice in water for half an hour first and then cook it until it was half done, then drain and refresh it, I put it to one side until I needed it.

I fried off my chopped onion in ghee until they were golden.
(you can use oil if you haven’t got ghee)

Added the diced chicken thighs, potatoes, tomatoes, ginger, garlic granules and a spoonful of the packet spices.

Fried it all off..

and then added my yoghurt and a cup of water, put a lid on it and let it simmer for 20 minutes.

Then it said to turn up the heat and ‘stir fry’ until the oil separated.

Which I did, the next part of the instructions weren’t overly clear but I think I got it right.

I put the resulting curry into a bowl, added a layer of rice to the pan, covered it in half the curry, added another layer of rice and the rest of the curry.

put a lid on it and cooked it very gently for another 10 minutes..

and then it was done.

Even if I say so myself, it was bloody gorgeous.

I served it with naan bread and a simple salad of tomato, onion, watercress and lime..

