Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I just can’t believe I didn’t have any prawns in the freezer

By the time the plumber had finished fixing the central heating and I’d cleared up after them the other evening, the last thing I wanted to do was make a fish pie, but the fish needed using and and there wasn’t really anything else handy, so I made a lazy version, I thought I had some prawns in the freezer, but despite looking twice just in case, turns out I didn’t..

Lazy fish pie

I put the fish into a pan, covered it in milk and added a token spring of parsley and a grind of black pepper, bought it to a simmer and then took it off the heat.

I cooked off some onion, peppers, mushrooms and leek.

Added a spoonful of cornflour to make a roux, then used the fish milk to make a thick sauce, put in some sweetcorn and peas, seasoned it with white pepper and then put the fish in and let it cook for a few more minutes.

In the meantime, because I really couldn’t be arsed to make mashed potato, I sliced up some potatoes and cooked them til crispy.

Stuck a handful of watercress on the side, it’s quicker than doing broccoli and sprinkled it with grated parmesan.

It was really nice, less time, effort and fuss, I just can’t believe I didn’t have any prawns in the freezer..

