Tags

, , , , ,

I used the excess juices as a glaze

Years ago my sister was given  the Be-Ro  centenary edition cookery book at school, it must have been the late 70’s, I found it the other day whilst rummaging about through my mums recipe books, I flipped through it and was instantly taken back to my childhood because that was the book we used to make cakes and pastry and all kinds of things, then I came across bacon suet roll, I’d not had it in years, in fact the last time I think I made it was when I was about 12 years old.
I did a little bit of research and Be-Ro are still going strong and you can still buy the recipe book.

bero

So, being a glutton for punishment, I decided to do some more baking and I adapted the recipe a little and made:

chicken and smoked bacon suet roll

For the pastry, I used  3oz suet and 6 oz flour, I only had plain flour so I added a level teaspoon of baking powder.

pastry prep

I mixed it all together with enough cold water to make a dough.

pastry

The filling:

suet roll prep

I rolled the pastry out into an oblong and trimmed it.

roll out pastry

I cooked off the chicken, leek, smoked bacon, onion and chopped parsley, then drained the excess juice, and kept it.

cook filing

I put the filling onto the pastry.add filling

and rolled it up, quite tightly.

I added a couple of pastry leaves on top, because that’s what you do, don’t you..

glaze

and then I used the excess juices as a glaze and put it in the oven on about 180° for about 40 minutes.

I chopped up some veggies for a sort of stir fry to go with it, and made soup with the left overs.

out of oven

When it was ready, I sliced it up.

slice rollbacon roll

It was absolutely delicious, even more so than I remembered it, the pastry was beautifully crisp on the outside and was much nicer than I had thought it would be..

We were quite greedy and ate all of it, which was a shame because it would have been really nice cold for lunch.

chix bacon veggies

In fact you could make that sweet with jam, for a pudding, and use vegetarian suet if you liked..

