Tags

, , , ,

They took as long as the chicken took to prepare and cook, which was about an hour less than classic Boulangère potatoes.

I want to refer to this as Boulangère potatoes, but classically it isn’t, I didn’t use meat stock and I prefer my potatoes to be less ‘wet’ than the recipe calls for, so I shall call it a potato gratin.

I wanted something different to go with the chicken dish I was cooking but as usual I left it too late to make a proper dish of potatoes, so this dish was a shortcut..

Potato Gratin

I didn’t have any chicken stock cubes, but I did have a tub of vegetable stock powder in the cupboard, a bit out of date, well massively out of date if I’m honest but I only wanted a smidge, so I wasn’t overly bothered.

gratin prep

I sliced up my potatoes quite thinly, I didn’t want them to take ages to cook.

slice pots

and put them into a pan of kettle boiled water (quicker than boiling in a pot) and left it on low, so they would soften but not fall to pieces.

While they were doing that I sautéd off some onions and a few bits of sage leaf I had knocking about in the fridge.

cook onion

I drained the potatoes, which were still firm and intact, mixed them up with the onion, put them into a dish and poured over a little veg stock, seasoned them with salt and pepper and topped them with grated Parmesan

parmesan

popped then into the oven until they were brown.

when brown.

They took as long as the chicken took to prepare and cook, which was about an hour less than classic Boulangère potatoes.

potato gratin

