Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

the saltiness of the salami, the sweetness of the Roscoff onion, or the subtlety of the cardamon

Up until this morning I hadn’t done a proper food shop since the 16th of  December, apart from milk, bread and cider I’ve been making do and I’m really quite pleased with myself for getting by.

The fridge was so bare by yesterday.

empty fridge

I had my lunch at the hospital, mr 5 is still there and I do like hospital food, besides  I didn’t really even have anything for a sandwich indoors.

hospital lunch

It was lovely, despite being very orange, shepherds pie, carrots and gravy and I sneaked a couple of roast potatoes too.

So dinner really was left overs..

Empty fridge chicken

Apart from eggs, Beer and for some inexplicable reason, 3 limes, this was all I could muster up.

fridge chix prep

A tiny piece of chicken, some Milano salami, few veggies and Parmesan.

 

I wrapped the chicken in the salami, well as best you can wrap salami around anything.

wrap chix

Then I covered it with a little seasoned flour and grated parmesan.

parm on chix

I put it on a ‘trivet’ of Roscoff onion so the cheese didn’t burn while cooking..

on onions

and then I roasted off the veggies in the same pan..

roast veg

When it was all nearly done I put a handful of baby leaf spinach, basil and tomato over the veg.

spinach and tom

and cut up a mini naan I found in the freezer, I added a little parmesan to the top.

naan

put it all back in the oven and cooked it for a few minutes longer until the chicken looked yummy enough.
cooked chix

I heaped the veggies on the plate.

roast veggies

naan with parm

then topped it with the naan.

and finally heaped on the chicken.

chix1

I don’t know if it was the saltiness of the salami, the sweetness of the Roscoff onion, or the subtlety of the cardamon in the naan, but it was really delicious, so much so I’ll probably make that again.

parm salami chix

