Tags

, , , , , ,

Then I stuffed the half the lentil mix into the thighs, it was a very messy process, might have a rethink on that, lol.

I have recently become a lentil convert, lentils were always one of those things I thought I disliked, I used to detest cooked tomatoes on their own too but it seems that over time the more I sampled the foods I thought I hated, I actually began to enjoy them, now I love cooked tomatoes on my breakfast, fresh coriander was another thing I detested, but the more I found it in take away curries, the more it was easier just to eat it instead of picking it out, now I pretty much eat anything, if I don’t like it, I just kept trying a little bit until I do, I draw the line at beetroot,  goats cheese and celery; probably the most revolting taste ever.

So I had to chuckle to myself when preparing the lentils for this meal, particularly as my husband has also found a fondness for them.

Chicken thighs stuffed with Indian spiced lentils

lentil stuffed chicken prep

I made up a lentil ‘stuffing’ which consisted of lentils, par boiled to soften them up and then cooked with some peppers and onion and spiced with a little chili, some madras curry powder and a ‘whole spice’ blend of my own creation, based on Panch Phoron, and a spoonful of  leftover refried beans from the enchiladas the previous evening.

cook lentils

I left it to cool down and in the meantime boned the chicken thighs.

bone thighs

Then I stuffed the half the lentil mix into the thighs, it was a very messy process, might have a rethink on that, lol. and secured them with wooden skewers.

stuff chix

Then I very carefully browned the chicken in a hot pan so the lentils didn’t ooze out…

brown chicken

and put them into the oven to cook for about half an hour.

I warmed up the remaining lentils and served the chicken on them..

chix 3

We had it with some Indian roasties and a pitta bread.

indian roasties

lentils 1

It was really nice, not too hot, but deliciously spicy and that is why I now like lentils.

