Tags

, , , , , , ,

that was the best meatloaf I ever tasted..

I’ve never made nor eaten meatloaf before, it’s not really a British thing, it’s just something we are vaguely aware Americans eat, lol.
I suppose if we had an equivalent, it might be Shepherds pie, so when I came across this meatloaf post on  Gastrofetish’s  blog, I was inspired to try my hand.

I did a bit of research to find out exactly what makes a good meatloaf and taking all things into consideration, I came up with:

English Meatloaf.

So this was my very first attempt at meatloaf.

meatloaf prep

I decided to use equal amounts of minced beef and pork sausage meat, which were just sausages squeezed out of their skins.
I whizzed up some onion, garlic, herbs and chilli in my mini blender.

I mixed the meat, the onions, some seasoning and a tablespoon of Paxo stuffing mix (in place of breadcrumbs) and shaped it into a loaf.

mix together

I wrapped it in streaky bacon

wrap in bacon

and then I stood it in a roasting tin on some onions, so the bottom wouldn’t burn and baked it in the oven, 175°c for an hour, the I turned the oven up to 200°c just to brown it off.

stand on onions

When it was done I left it to stand, loosely wrapped in tin foil while I put together bubble and squeak and made a gravy.

out of oven

I removed the onions it had been cooking on and put them with the bubble ingredients then I deglazed the roasting pan with a little left over pork gravy and red wine from Sunday’s roast and made a gravy.

gravy

Having never had this before, I had nothing to compare it with, it was very nice, I’m not sure if it should have been slightly more moist, it could have probably done with it, it reminded me of christmas.

meatloaf

I don’t know if I’ll make it again, but it’s certainly got me thinking about the ingredients and method and how I could adapt it into other meals..

meatloaf 1

I had it with a big heap of bubble and squeak, and can honestly say, that was the best meatloaf I ever tasted..

meatloaf and bubble

