Tags

, , , , ,

I added some of the potato water, the starchiness helped to thicken it.

I love curry and I love potatoes, so thank goodness for Bombay aloo.
This is my recipe, but I expect there are lots of variations out there, I prefer mine to be quite wet, but not swimming in sauce.
I wanted a dry chicken to go with this, so:

Spicy chicken and peppers with Bombay aloo

aloo prep

I diced up my potatoes and par boiled them, I saved some of the potato water for later.

I lightly fried the mustard and cumin seeds in ghee.

fry seeds

Then added the onions, ginger and a couple of curry leaves, cooked the onions til they were soft and then added a teaspoon each of Garam Masala, turmeric, chilli power, Gujarati Masala, dried fenugreek leaves and some ground coriander seed, curry powder would work just as well.

add garam spices

once it had all cooked together, I added some of the potato water, the starchiness helped to thicken it.

make gravy sce

and then I tossed in the potatoes and give them a good mix up.

add potato water

I added a little tomato puree and half a left over tomato, then added a little more water and left it to cook out..

cook it all up.

In the meantime I coated two chicken breasts in some panch phoron and Madras curry powder.

bake chicken

and put them in a hot oven, half way through cooking I added some peppers.

spiced chicken

Really delicious, I served mine with a paratha.

chix2

add coriander

with paratha

