Tags

, , , , , , , ,

certainly benefited from being cooked for so long, the meat fell apart..

I had some stewing steak in the freezer that I’d bought before Christmas and decided it was high time I used it up.
So carbonnade of beef seemed like a good idea.
I used Newcastle brown, I don’t know much about ale, I’m a cider drinker, but that’s what my mate ‘Northern Dave’ drinks and he swears by it, so that was good enough for me.

Beef in Newkie brown.

carbonnade prep

I dredged the meat in some corn flour, salt and pepper.

flour meat

cooked the shallots in a little oil and goose fat, then added the mushrooms.

mush and shallot

When they had softened, I fished them out and browned the beef.

fry meat

Then I slowly added the ale to the roux to make the sauce, I used just over half the bottle.

add beer

To that, as an after thought I added a good dollop of tomato puree and about a quarter of a pint of left over beef gravy from Wednesdays dinner.
(I always put left over gravy in the fridge or freezer, no matter how little there is because I can always find something to put it in.)

Then I put the mushrooms and shallots back in.

put in oven

I put it in a very low oven, about 120°c for 4 hours, I turned the oven up about half an hour towards the end of cooking in order to crispen up the skins of the jackets I’d put in.

we had it with cabbage and leeks.

jpleeks

beef cabonnade

It was really tasty and certainly benefited from being cooked for so long, the meat fell apart..

beef carbonnade1

