Tags

, , ,

Now that’s what I call a robust sponge, I’m sure Queen Victoria would have preferred something a little more dainty,

This weeks Sunday guest post is by my very good friend Flossie, she actually made the cake ages ago, but I’ve only just got round to doing it, as I’m a rubbish baker, it seemed like the perfect recipe I didn’t have to do..

This is a good old fashioned Victoria sandwich, like your nan used to make, so named because Queen Victoria, favoured a slice of the sponge cake with her afternoon tea, and who can blame her.

Victoria sandwich:

cake prep

Firstly she set out all the ingredients nicely, so she wouldn’t have to bother actually telling me anything.

Then she took a picture of the recipe when I asked her what quantities she used…lol

recipe

After she had made the cake mix.

make mix

and had a glass of wine.

have wine

She put the mix into two lined tins and baked them in the oven until they were golden brown, turned them out to cool and had more wine.

bake

Then she made up some butter icing and spread it over one sponge and covered the other with an entire jar of jam..
lol

jam and butter icing

sandwiched the two together and sprinkled over a shit load of icing sugar..

Victoria sandwich

Now that’s what I call a robust sponge, I’m sure Queen Victoria would have preferred something a little more dainty, but to be honest, I know I’d prefer a piece of this one.

Then Mr Flossie came out and complained about the mess..

mr boring..

She just took her wine and went of to have her cake and eat it..

Thank you Flossie for todays guest post..

