Tags

, , , , , ,

With homemade naan bread

While I was being all domestic goddessy the other morning and making rock buns, less like pebbles this time round..

buns

and Beef in beer, I decided to make some Mulligatawny soup with a piece of left over turkey escalope I had in the freezer.

Mulligatawny literally means pepper water and there are hundreds of different versions and methods to be found, the nice thing about it is that you don’t actually need much more than some curry powder and good stock, anything else one adds is just garnish.
This is mine, it’s dead simple, I bought a nice chicken stock out of Marks’s for ease.

Turkey, potato and lentil mulligatawny soup

The potato was an afterthought, hence it’s non appearance in the en place photo.

mulligatawny prep

I fried off the onion in ghee and the added a generous spoonful of curry powder and cooked that out.

cook out curry powder

Then I added the turkey, cooked that and put the lentils in.

add turkey

I made a roux with a spoonful of corn flour

add lentils

and then slowly added the chicken stock and a small potato that I’d diced up.

cook

I simmered for about half an hour, turned it off and left it til the following day when I  reheated it and served it with homemade flatbread, which, for the sake of argument will be called naan, because this is a curry soup, and it’s shorter to type…

mulligatawny1

Quick and easy naan bread

I’m not an enthusiastic baker, but I decided to try my had at some flat bread, this was the simplest recipe I could find and it turned out rather well, although the recipe was for naan, I thought the end result was a  little thin, so next time I’ll make it with yeast and roll it thicker, it was more like pitta bread I thought, nevertheless, still very nice..

naan prep

I sifted 9oz plain flour, 2 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp baking powder into a bowl, added 100ml milk, 2 tbsps of yoghurt and a splosh of oil, mixed the lot together and formed a dough which I kneaded for 8 minutes (yawn)

I left it in a warm place for 15 minutes, then rolled it out into 10 mini naan shapes.
I added some nigella seeds to the top.

roll dough

Then I put them onto a hot baking sheet under the grill/ oven setting until they browned.

naan

I was really surprised at how well they turned out.

It was really nice, I’m glad I bothered to make the naan..

with naan

naan

