There is no denying that they are ugly..

You may or may not be aware of my less than enthusiastic approach to baking, I’m not really that good at it, but I do keep persevering and after the relative success of my pitta/naan/flatbreads I decided I wanted to make some breadsticks to go with my kitchen cupboard minestrone.

If you are a baker of any ability you might want to look away now, it’s not pretty…

About 4 years ago I got a bread maker for Christmas, I had visions of making my own bread daily and whipping up pizza dough and soda bread on a whim, sadly that was not to be, it turned out I wasn’t even good a bread making in a machine and the novelty wore off even before it began, white bread was only good for toast, brown bread didn’t rise and came out like soda bread and I hated the idea of having to dig the paddle out of the loaf at the end of cooking, so the bread maker was relegated to the back of the cupboard and only remembered when I needed the space, nevertheless I was loathed to get rid of it.

So after making the flat-bread I had a marvelous idea, I’d just use the dough programme and cook the bread in my own oven..

I found the instruction booklet and it had a recipe and setting for bread stick dough, so  it seemed like a good enough opportunity to test my theory out..

480g strong white flour
1tsp salt
2 tsp sugar
30g butter
2 ½ tsp dried/easy yeast
410 ml water

Chucked it all in and it did it’s magic for two hours.

I winged the next bit, the bread-maker only had ingredients and setting, after that I was on my own, had a quick squizz on line to see what to do next, but with little success,  most recipes assumed I had made my own dough..

I eased the sticky lump of dough from the bread maker, I wasn’t sure if that was it, or I needed to knead it, so I kneaded it a bit anyway and attempted to make it into sticks, more like clubs really,  then deciding not to take any chances I left them in the warm to rise again.

proving

I brushed them with oil and put toppings of cheese, caraway seeds and nigella seeds on some..

prove

Then I baked them in the oven on 200° for 17 minutes..

out of oven

There is no denying that they are ugly..
Fortunately they made up for it in taste, I need to figure out how to get the seeds to stay on, perhaps I’ll just add them to the dough next time and I hope I’ll be motivated for a next time because I have a huge bag of strong white flour to use up..

bread

closer

Definitely room for improvement, but gotten me a little more interested in trying something else now..

