Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

and sipping bloody Mary’s while the magic pixies get on with 

I found a telegraph recipe supplement in the the kitchen crap draw while I was tidying up last week, I had a leaf through it and came across a really nice picture of potato cakes with  poached eggs on top and a serious suggestion of bloody Mary’s as an accompaniment.
It looked so nice I knew I’d have to make it, but unlike the recipe suggested, not for brunch, I don’t live the kind of lifestyle that includes lazy Sunday’s  reading the papers in my pyjamas, eating brunch and sipping bloody Mary’s while the magic pixies get on with all the real world things that need to be done, so I adapted it for a mid week dinner.
I had some (Black Farmer Gluten free )sausages in the fridge that needed using, so I made..

Potato cakes with grilled sausages and Roscoff onions..

The fried eggs made it posh..

potato cake prep

These kinds of recipes always suggest using left over mash potatoes, I don’t know about you but I rarely have that much mash left over from anything, so I cooked some potatoes earlier in the day and mashed them ( NO butter or cream, they)

I put the sausages in the oven on a heap of onions with a few fennel seeds and a little oil.

bake sausages

Then I fried off some bacon and spring onions.

fry bacon

and mixed it into the mash with some tomatoes

mix mash,toms,bacon

Shaped the mixture into cakes and chilled it for 10 minutes, it said half an hour, but who has time to faff about and waste time when they are ravenous.

make into cakes

and fried them off in a pan..

fry potato cakes

I served mine with fried eggs, hubby had poached with his..

potato cakes with sausages..

The pictures don’t do it justice, but I was more concerned in getting two lots of runny eggs to the table trays on our laps in front of the telly (eeek!!)

with fried eggs

Even if I say so myself, it was perfect, that really was comfort food at it’s best, and if I were to recommend any of the dishes I’ve posted up so far to bother making, then this has to be it..

