Tags

, , , , ,

I only used half of it, how much lemon meringue pie does one really need to eat anyway.

I haven’t made Lemon curd since Home Economics at school when I was about 12, I vaguely remember the lesson, in those days you knew what you were making the week before and everyone brought in their own ingredients and spent an hour an a half making something, do they still teach that these days?
Probably not, I expect it’s too dangerous and contravenes some stupid health and safety law..
So, seeing as I’m persevering with the baking and mr 5 was having a very bad day, pain wise and had doped himself up on morphine and was sleeping I thought I’d make..

Lemon Meringue pie:

I used a recipe from my trusty practical cookery book, I had to buy a new one a couple of years ago, the other one fell apart, I like using it because it’s reliable and you know the recipe will work.

pc

I used method 2 for my pastry.

pastry recipe

and I only used half of it, how much lemon meringue pie does one really need to eat anyway.
I put the rest in the fridge for the next day..

I used mini flan tins and made 4..

I blind baked them first, then filled them up with lemon curd using this recipe.

curd

fill cases

I even had some left over for a tiny pot..

lemon curd

once it had set I made up some meringue and put it on the top and baked them in a hot oven (220°c) till brown..

pie1

Fortunately my husband finally managed to wake up by dinner time and We had them while they were still a little warm and the lemon curd was a bit runny, after our rather lovely dinner of Faux Tournedos Rossini, well it was Valentines day.lol

lmp

They were very nice, the lemon curd was just tart enough..

close up

