Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have never needed a cake stand and probably never will

and the baking went on and on…

I bought a cake stand, I have never needed a cake stand and probably never will, but it was so pretty and not that expensive either (£12.99 out of TKmaxx) I couldn’t help it.

cake stand

I’d like to make an ‘afternoon tea’, the sort of thing one one get if one could afford afternoon tea at the ritz, so keep an eye out for that..

In the meantime I had some sugar pastry in the fridge that needed using up and 3 egg yolks from the lemon meringue pies the day before.

So, I decided to make some

Cheeky little tarts:

I had enough pastry for 4, I blind baked them and then filled them with crème patissière, I used this recipe, but reduced it because I only had 3 egg yolks.

pastry cream
4 egg yolks
100 g caster sugar
25 g plain flour, sifted
1 vanilla pod, with a line scored down the side, or 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
350 ml milk

Method
1. In a bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the sugar until light and thick, then stir in the flour.

2. Put the vanilla pod (if using) in a saucepan with the milk and bring it slowly just up to the boil. Remove the vanilla pod and pour the milk onto the egg mixture, whisking all the time. Return the mixture to the pan and stir over a low-medium heat until it comes up to a gentle boil. It must boil for it to thicken. Continue to cook, stirring all the time (or use a whisk if it looks lumpy), for 2 minutes or until it has thickened.

3. Remove the saucepan from the heat, add the vanilla extract (if using) and pour into a bowl. If the mixture goes a little lumpy while cooking, remove the saucepan from the heat and whisk well. If it is still lumpy when cooked, push it through a sieve.

Once I’d filled the tart cases I added some raspberries and made an apricot glaze to top them with..
tarts

They were yummy, even nicer than the lemon meringues..
basil

I added a little basil decoration because I had no mint..

rasp tart

I think I might invest in some barquette molds, these will be too big for tea, especially if I make cup cakes and muffins, (insert rolling on the floor smiley doofer here) which I may well do..

