Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I made some Irish soda bread rolls to go with it

This is a delicious alternative to sausage casserole, particularly if like me, you aren’t that keen on a tomatoey one..
It’s basically a (Dublin) coddle, but a little less wet and doesn’t take quite so long.

coddle prep

I browned the sausages ( Black Farmer– I know I bang on about them, but they really are the best sausages I’ve ever had, there are no strange white bits in them and they are not hideously expensive) then put them to the side while I fried of the onion and bacon, then I cut the sausages up and put them back into the pan with some potatoes.

fry everything

Cooked it all for a little longer and then added vegetable stock.

add stock

Once the potatoes began to soften..cook out

I added a little more stock, put a lid on and put it in the oven.

While it was cooking I made some Irish soda bread rolls to go with it, the method is here..

rolls 2

When it was done, and it only took half an hour..

coddle

we had it with the bread and some baby cabbage.

coddle with soda rolls

It was really delicious and warming, proper comfort food.

