Tags

, , ,

They were dead easy, very yummy and need a warning,

I thought I’d use up some more of the filo pastry I had in the freezer which I’d used for the Turkey filo pie, it seems to be never ending..

This time I decided to do a sweet filling, but make small ones rather than one massive one..
I cheated and bought ready made pie filling, they only had Morello Cherry in Morrisons, which was a bit of a bummer, never having looked before I’d have thought you could buy a variety of flavours, but that’s all they had.

I know I could have probably made some but I couldn’t be bothered with all the faffing about.

I used a muffin tray, which I lightly oiled, I’ve since been advised by someone that knows these things, that I would have been better off using butter and covering each layer inside and out as I went along so that it would brown more during cooking, which I will do next time.

I laid strips of pastry across.

lay pastry

Then a bit round the middle to strengthen it.

add middle

Added a dollop of pie filling and brought the pastry back over and scrunched it up, next time I’ll know to butter it..

scrunch top

Then I oiled the top and baked it for about 12 minutes.

I dredged them with icing sugar and I thought that despite being a little pale around the middle, they looked very nice indeed.

morrello cherry pot pie

They were dead easy, very yummy and need a warning, Well durrr, of course they filling will be like molten lava!! lol, after I burnt my mouth..

cherry pot

I think I may well make savoury filled ones next time, not bad for 20 minutes work..

morrello cherry pot pie

