Tags

, , , , ,

a dented can of Whiskers, a four pack of scrumpy jack with one missing or a split packet of something or other

I don’t often buy anything on the reduced shelf, not because I’m too proud or anything, but usually because it’s stuff I have no use for; a dented can of Whiskers, a four pack of scrumpy jack with one missing or a split packet of something or other stuffed in a plastic bag, not the sort of thing I can make dinner out of, but I do have a look as I’m passing and last week I picked up a reduced packet of dumpling mix for 25p, It was a month before it’s use by date and a good enough reason to make a stew..

In the last week I’ve seen two recipes for Mexican type stews, this one on The little GSP’s blog – Which looks absolutely gorgeous, and one in a magazine I was looking through at my mums.

So this is my

Mexican chicken stew with jalapeno and cheese dumplings:

mexican chicken stew

Because I wanted it to be quick I took the chicken off the bone.
I cooked the peppers and onions first, then put them to one side and browned the chicken, added half a packet of taco seasoning and put the peppers back in.

chix peppers

Then I added a small can of refried beans and some over ripe tomatoes that needed using..

add toms and bnz

Added water using the swilled out bean can..
and cooked it for 10 minutes.

add water

I made the dumpling mix up, had I made my own I’d have probably used 6 oz S.R flour and 3 oz suet.
(just mix the suet into the flour, add enough cold water to bring it together to form a dough.)

I added some grated cheese and chopped jalapeno, then formed 8 small dumpling.

make dumplings

I put some sweetcorn into the casserole and then placed the dumplings in.

add dumplings

Put a lid on it and stuck it in the over for about 20 minutes, I took the lid off for the last 5 minutes..

cooked

It was bloody gorgeous, not too hot, but warmingly spicy.
mexican stew

I added a little more cheese to the dumplings..

cheesy dumplings

Certainly be making that again.

stew

