Tags

, , , , , , ,

it was a case of chucking it in the oven and waiting, there was a little bit of stirring involved, but nothing too strenuous.

I went out on an epic scamper the other afternoon, it was really nice, bright and sunny for the first hour and a half, then the sky just got darker and darker, fortunately I was almost back before it started to thunder, lightning and hail, so me and woofboy didn’t get too wet.

I’d also been quite organised preparing dinner before I went out so when I got in, it was a case of chucking it in the oven and waiting, there was a little bit of stirring involved, but nothing too strenuous.

ominous sky

I left some chana dahl soaking in water over night and in the morning I rubbed some chicken thighs with schwartz char grill chicken seasoning, madras curry powder and oil and left it to marinate.

Madras chicken with methi chana dahl :

chana dahl prep

I stuck the chicken into a roasting tin, covered it in tin foil, I didn’t want it to over brown before the dahl had cooked and put it in the oven.

I fried some panch phoran off in some oil and when it began ‘spitting and popping’ add some onions, then garlic, cooked those a bit then added peppers and the dahl, covered it with water and let it simmer for about 40 minutes.
I checked it now and then to make sure it hadn’t dried up and added more water as necessary..

simmer

When it was soft and had absorbed all the water I added some tomatoes, a good sprinkling of garam masala and some dried fenugreek leaf, and just let those flavours infuse for a few minutes..

cooked

I served it with homemade flat bread and the chicken..

dahl and chix

I thoroughly enjoyed it, very much like lentils, next time I shall cook it even longer but this was perfect for what it was..

chix and dahl

