Tags

, , , , ,

If I had been organised I’d have made this up several hours in advance to allow the flavours to infuse

I got a chicken breast out of the freezer for dinner last night, I had no idea what I was going to do with it, but I had a pitta bread left over and what ever I decided on would involve that..
I was chatting with my friend on Facebook and asked her what she was having and she said, “that thai chicken with Jasmine rice, the one K.D made that time”, and I thought, I have some yoghurt and cucumber, I’ll make that, I know my husband wasn’t too keen on it, so I’ll have it while I’m on my own.
The only thing I didn’t have was fresh coriander, but that wasn’t the end of the world..

Red Thai chicken with Jasmine rice:

If I had been organised I’d have made this up several hours in advance to allow the flavours to infuse, but I wasn’t, so I gave it 20 minutes, to be honest I can’t taste very much at the moment, so it didn’t matter, it’s really easy to do..

thai chix prep

I mixed the yoghurt with a generous spoonful of red Thai curry paste and some chopped parsley, I’d have used coriander if I’d had it.

chix in yoghurt

Left it for a bit, the baked it in a hot oven, so it was brown on the outside, but still moist.

thai chicken

Then I had it with some plain boiled Jasmine rice, a basic cucumber and yoghurt raita, some lime soaked red onion and pitta bread.

with yoghurt

It was very nice indeed and is definitely better if left to marinade for a while..

