Tags

, , , , ,

  it was tempting just to cop out and make a chilli, but if I’m going to reach my target of making  365 different dinners then there is no time for slacking,

I nearly didn’t bother to make this, by the time I’d finished loading up the Hippo bag with garden rubbish the thought of making meatballs was becoming less and less appealing the hungrier I became, it was tempting just to cop out and make a chilli, but if I’m going to reach my target of making  365 different dinners then there is no time for slacking, not that I gave myself a time limit or anything, cakes, breads, potato dishes, friends meals and dog biscuits don’t count so I still have about 236 to go, but I’m convinced it is possible to make a different dinner for every day of the year that doesn’t involve going out of ones way too much, doesn’t cost a fortune and of course is nice, not only to eat, but to look at too.

So I pulled my finger out and this is

Taco spiced meat and bean balls:

taco meatball prep

I put the mince, a small tin of refried beans, some taco seasoning and coriander into a bowl, mixed it together and made it in balls.

make into meatballs

Then I put them into a dish with some sweet peppers and tomatoes.

add peppers

added half a small tin of left over chopped tomatoes and a few dollops of salsa (I always have it in the cupboard because you never know when it might come in useful.)

with toms

I put them in the oven and half way through added some jalapeno peppers I remembered I had in the cupboard, they were quite fragile, so I had to take care they didn’t fall apart, the meatballs that is, not the jalapenos.

When they were brown.

baked

I served them with rice..

without chz

Grated Emmental and ‘cool’ Doritos, which in my opinion could have been spicy tomato or even nacho cheese flavour, they all have that generic sweet, tomatoey flavouring to them, and are really salty, the only reason I bought them is because that’s all they sold in the local shop..

meatballs

Despite that, they were bloody gorgeous and I’m glad I made the effort.

with chz

