Tags

, , , , ,

 I should have bought quinoa flakes, but I didn’t and as I’d opened the packet already, I was bloody well going use some of it…

I was looking through my mums BBC good food magazine and there was an article and several recipes for ‘super foods’, they looked really nice and Chicken schnitzel with a quinoa coating caught my eye, so I had a brief look through the recipe and filed it away for future reference and then looked up how to pronounce it..
I though it was Kwin-noah, but it aint!!

I decided to make it last night, I’d bought some quinoa out the health food shop, I paid £3.20 for it, I know now that Tesco sell it for half that price, they must’ve seen me coming..
That’s when it turned into a fiasco, I wasn’t going to blog this, but I thought I ought to post up the good and the bad..
so, this is
Fiasco Chicken

The prep photo is a little sparse, there wasn’t much to it.

prep fiasco

I’d already made the potatoes, muffin tin Dauphinoise ..

cheesy dauph

I stood looking at the quinoa for a while,

birdseed

not entirely sure what to do, went off and googled it..

It was clear I’d not read the recipe properly, I should have bought quinoa flakes, but I didn’t and as I’d opened the packet already, I was bloody well going use some of it…

So I forged ahead anyway and half heartedly coated the bashed out, seasoned chicken, dipped in buttermilk with quinoa  (how I hate that word now)

bash chicken

Then I baked it in the oven..

cook

The potatoes turned out beautifully.

potato

in fact they were the nicest part of it.
dauph pots

and so did the veg..

yummy veg

When I gave mr 5 his, he said, is that millet? it looks like the stuff I used to feed my budgie when I was a kid..

chicken with bird seed.

He scraped his off and then left it, I made a feeble attempt at enjoying it, but it was a right disaster..

not very nice at all.

In retrospect I should have just pan fried the chicken and left the quinoa for another day, but learning from ones mistakes is important and I learned that I should read everything properly first, which is why I prefer to make it up as I go along.

