Tags

, , , , , ,

It was lovely, I can think of loads of things I could put in there next time, bacon and leeks come to mind,

I decided to make Paul Hollywoods savoury brioche couronne, but after I’d measured out the flour I found I only had one egg, the butter was still in the fridge and the milk was skimmed and still partially frozen, so that idea went out the window and I made up the dough with water and olive oil instead, 500g strong white bread flour, 10g yeast, tsp salt, a good glug of olive oil and enough water to make a dough and hoped for the best..

When the dough had risen I cut it in half and with one half I made

Savoury couronne:

I didn’t knock the dough back, as stated in the recipe, I just rolled it into a rectangle and topped it with mozzarella,  prosciutto and olives, a few bits of fresh basil and some seasoning.

topping

Then I rolled it in on itself from both sides.

roll

all the way up..

roll both sides

and cut it down the middle.

cut down middle

and then it was just a case of carefully twisting it up

twist

and shaping it into a ring, leaving it to rise again for about an hour, egg washing it and sprinkling it with Parmesan.

savoury b4 oven

Then I baked it for half an hour.

baked

I did a few roast peppers to go with it..

roast peppers

Then cut it up..

sliced

It was lovely, I can think of loads of things I could put in there next time, bacon and leeks come to mind, I saved a couple of pieces for breakfast….

cut

I cut the remaining dough in half again, stuck half in the fridge to make naan with for the following evening and then I made a

Sweet mixed fruit & spice couronne:

add fruit

Same method..

sweet b4 oven

I baked this for about 20 minutes, when it came out

sweet one

I drizzled it with a little icing sugar mixed with toffee vodka..

sweet baked

I would have liked to have taken some nice pictures of it, but I couldn’t wait to eat some..

fruit couronne

It was gorgeous, definitely going to do that again..

All in all, total compensation for the chicken fiasco the night before..

