Tags

, , ,

I’ve got a resident robin that follows me about, he has become quite tame, I was able to get some really nice pictures..

This is my version of Madhur Jaffrey’s version of Rajasthani red meat. I decided that I wanted to bulk mine out with some potatoes and lentils, which is probably why it wasn’t red, but that did not detract from the flavour whatsoever, it was gorgeous..

In her recipe you cook the lamb for an hour or so, but as I wanted to go out and do some gardening I decided to slow cook mine in the oven on low for 3 hours, it meant I didn’t have to come in before I’d finished..

raja lamb prep

I heated up the oil, cooked the cinnamon, cloves and cardamon pods for a moment, then added the onion and cooked that too.

spice and onions

Then I added some garlic and ginger, a handy tip for ginger, if you keep it in the freezer, it lasts ages and grates really nicely and you don’t have to peel it either..

Then the lamb and the cayenne, the paprika and I also used cumin because I like it, and some diced potato.

paprika and cayenne

chucked in a handful of lentils, ideally they would have been Orange, but I only had green..

add lentils

Covered it in water, stuck it in the oven and went off and did some gardening..

I’ve got a resident robin that follows me about, he has become quite tame, I was able to get some really nice pictures, I felt quite privileged that he comes so close to me..

robin

anyway, by the time I got in the lamb was done, so it was just a case of making some flatbread, with the left over couronne dough and baking it..

flatbread

I thoroughly enjoyed that, ok so it looked a little grey, but as I said, tasted gorgeous..

lamb

The bread was lovely too, considering the dough had been in the fridge over night..

with bread

