Tags

, , , , , , ,

But I knew I could make my own version and far cheaper too, a maggi packet mix costs 99p, a single Baco oven bag works out at 37p and  I already have the spices.

Bloody hell, where did the week go, one minute it was Monday and I was going round Tesco wishing I’d written out a shopping list the night before like I usually do, and all of a sudden it’s Friday and despite all the lovely things I’ve eaten this week I’ve not found the time to blog, admittedly the weather has been so nice I’ve been trying to stay outdoors as much as I can..

A while ago I bought one of those Maggi so juicy cook in a bag things, I had some pork ribs and didn’t know what to do with them, saw this, bought it, used it, very nice indeed..

ribs

But I knew I could make my own version and far cheaper too, a maggi packet mix costs 99p, a single Baco oven bag works out at 37p and  I already have the spices.

so this is my version of Maggi so juicy..

Spicy chicken wings:

chicken wing prep

I took the wing tips off the chicken, we don’t eat them and I didn’t want them to puncture the bag or take up space.
I put them into a bag, not the oven bag, just a plastic bag to coat them in spices first.

I used season all, spicy season all, cayenne pepper, coriander, powdered garlic, char grill chicken seasoning, and I think I added something else too, but I can’t remember.

I thoroughly coated the wings, then as an after thought added a generous dollop of sweet chilli sauce..

season

Transferred them to the oven bag,

put in bag

secured it with tie provided, snipped a hole in the corner and put them in a roasting pan and into the oven for about 40 minutes.

baked

When they were done we had them with a warm jersey royal potato salad and a tomato and mozzarella salad.

salad

some flat breads made with the left over bread dough I’d made that afternoon.
It didn’t rise particularly well, I don’t know why, but it didn’t matter, I’d made it for toast anyway..

bread

The chicken really was juicy, it was delicious and just fell off the bone.

chicken wings and salad

I’m definitely going to use that method again..

wings

There was plenty left over for next days lunch too.

