Tags

, , , , , ,

Then because it was such a beautiful day me and woofboy went on our first epic ‘rucksack, map and compass’ scamper of the year.
It was perfect walking weather, we did 7.5 miles, some of which was along the old canal path.

Tuesday I spent the morning baking, I wanted a quiche to take to my mums on Wednesday, I also made three small ones with the remaining pastry, which was simply 6oz fat (2oz butter, 2oz Trex, 2oz stork) mixed into 8oz plain flour and 4tbsp water)

I blind baked them first, then added the filling..

quichebig

While I was at it I made a ‘flaky pastry’ from a Delia Smith recipe for a fish pie that evening, Mr 5 has been going on at me to make a fish pie for ages and seeing as I was in the kitchen anyway I decided to make the pie filling too.

I used a similar method to the fish stew, only this time I used leeks and mushrooms, and  milk as my liquid, I also sneaked some cheese in there, Mr 5 reckons he doesn’t like fish pie with cheese sauce, but I know differently, he’s been eating it for yonks  and still hasn’t figured it out..

pie filling

I put the filling in a dish, topped it with some boiled egg and put it in the fridge along with the pastry, to assemble later.

with egg

Then because it was such a beautiful day me and woofboy went on our first epic ‘rucksack, map and compass’ scamper of the year.
It was perfect walking weather, we did 7.5 miles, some of which was along the old canal path.

I really love walking, I’m more than happy with my own company and I feel really cheerful and relaxed when hiking up hills and scrambling over stiles.

canal bridge

I was so glad I’d made the pie filling in the morning, I didn’t relish the thought of doing that after an epic scamper, so it was just a case of putting a top on the filling and baking it.

ready to bake

With the leftover bit of pastry, I made some ‘almost palmiers’, I just rolled some sugar into a rectangle of pastry, rolled it up each side to the center, cut it, egg washed it and sprinkled i with sugar.

palmiers b4

Put them in the oven until brown, dust with icing sugar.

palmiers

When the pie was done, it took about 35 minutes.

pastry cooked

we had it with boiled Jersey Royals and green beans..

fish pie with veg

It was delicious, I sprinkled mine with Parmesan..

I’m so glad I made it in advance, I was starving after all that walking.

pie

