Tags

, ,

I was surprised actually, I thought the coconut milk would make it taste vile, but it was really very nice indeed..

I know even less about Thai food than I do Chinese, I don’t think I’ve ever had a proper Thai meal, I really must rectify that and start teaching myself some basics.

I have in my cupboard, a jar of Thai red curry paste which I use for Thai style chicken dish and decided the other day that I would make a curry out of it and see whether  or not I liked it enough to bother expanding my Thai food knowledge.
So this is just a short and sweet one..

Simple red Thai curry

curry prep

I cooked of some chicken, added some peppers and a stray spring onion

cook chix

Then I added a dollop of the paste and cooked it out for a minute or two.

saute peppers

I added some coconut milk, bit dubious about the coconut milk, not a great fan of it to be honest, I brought it to the boil..

add milk

let it thicken up a bit

reduce milk

and served it with some Jasmine rice, I was surprised actually, I thought the coconut milk would make it taste vile, but it was really very nice indeed..

thai curry

Even Mr 5 liked it, so I’ve decided to try my hand at something else next week and see how I get on..

thai close

