Tags

, , , , , ,

although the one small chilli I used turned out to a bit of a fiery one, not sure the dish is meant to be quite that hot..

Do you know what? Up until a couple of months ago I’d never heard of pad Thai before, then all of a sudden it was popping up everywhere, everyone but me seemed to have heard of it, eaten it and loved it, so I decided I’d have to have a go at making it.
I searched the internet for a suitable recipe, damn there are a lot of them out there, and considering it was claimed to be a really simple dish many of them were rather complicated and necessarily convoluted, I eventually found one that seemed easy enough, having never had it before I had no idea what it was meant to taste like so I had no preconceptions..

It was really rather nice, although the one small chilli I used turned out to a bit of a fiery one, not sure the dish is meant to be quite that hot..

My Pad Thai

I couldn’t get hold of any tamarind, but I did have a small packet of powder, so I mixed a teaspoon with some water and used that..

pad thai prep

I marinaded the chicken in the chilli, soy and fish sauce for half an hour.

marinade chix

Then stir fried it

cook chix

chucked in the veggies, added the tamarind, some lime juice and sugar

add veggies

Then I added an egg, then the noodles..

add egg

I used cashew and peanuts in mine because I couldn’t find just peanuts and I wasn’t going to faff about picking them out..

pad thai chicken

Like I said, I enjoyed it very much, I might well have another go with a different recipe and a less hot chilli next time, and some tamarind paste if I can find some, after all I now have a bottle of fish sauce in the cupboard, god knows what I’ll need that for..

with crackers

I’m very much open to suggestions on this, seeing as I’ve never made it before..

