Tags

, , , , , ,

This has got to be the best soda bread I have ever made, it was fabulous, moist, light and tasty, almost cake like, and it took all of 5 minutes to knock together..

I decided to make a smoked mackerel salad, I love the stuff, I’ve probably said so before and if I ever had to have a last meal I think it would have to include that..
I had some feta cheese left over and I boiled a few small red potatoes to go with it..

salad

I made some soda bread to serve with it, I had a week out of date natural yogurt in the fridge which I was going to chuck out but thought better of it, it would be perfect for the bread, I also had a bag of spelt flour that I keep meaning to use, so this is

Spelt and yogurt soda bread

This has got to be the best soda bread I have ever made, it was fabulous, moist, light and tasty, almost cake like, and it took all of 5 minutes to knock together..

bread prep

I mixed a tsp and a half of bicarb with 200g spelt flour and brought it together with the yogurt, added a splish of water and formed it into a round.

dough

cut the top and put it into the oven for about 20 minutes, I turned the heat down a bit after 10 minutes..

baked

I was gorgeous..

cut bread

and it went well with the mackerel.

mack salad

While I was at it I made some sponge flans, I had raspberries and blueberries left over from some muffins I’d made,so I bought some flan cases, had I had molds I’d have made them, but I haven’t, I used half a packet of red quick jel over the top, simple and yummy..

flans

