Tags

, , , ,

I’ve called this fougasse because I used a fougasse dough and not because it really resembles one at all, in fact it’s more of a chicken Lahmacun..

I got the idea for this from a Marks and Spencer ‘Tapas’ that I bought on a whim for lunch the other day, except it was much smaller and in pastry..

I made up a fougasse dough, using the recipe on the back of the flour packet just because that was the most convenient to hand recipe..
200g Bread flour, 7g quick yeast, mixed together with 75ml olive oil and 175 ml water.

Once the dough had risen I put half back in the fridge, I’ll use it for the next days dinner.

Chicken harissa fougasse

I’ve called this fougasse because I used a fougasse dough and not because it really resembles one at all, in fact it’s more of a chicken Lahmacun..

chix harrisa prep

I blitzed the peppers, chilli, onion, herbs and garlic in my mini blender and then wrung it out in a tea towel, into that I mixed the chopped, strained tomatoes, some sumac, a teaspoon of ras el hanout and harissa paste.

peppers, sumac etc

Mixed it up and then added the chicken, which I had roughly knife minced.

I smeared the lot onto two rolled out dough ovals.

add chix

and baked it for 10 minutes, then I took it out, lightly brushed the dough edges with olive oil and popped it under the grill for a few minutes more..

baked

I made up a salad of leftovers, including some cold boiled potatoes and feta cheese.

left over salad

Which went really well..

with salad

It was lovely, next time I think I’ll make the topping a little wetter and use a tin of chopped plum tomatoes..
and perhaps roll the dough out thinner.

My 5 thoroughly enjoyed it and asked if next time I could make it with chilli all over the top, which I thought was a brilliant idea.
So I’ll do that again..

close with salad

