Tags

, , , , ,

I was going to make guacamole but despite having a ripe and ready to eat label on it..
The avocado was far from ripe enough to mash up, bloody liars!!

Yesterday started off cold and miserable, I had to turn the heating on and the lights, it’s nearly June for goodness sake, when I came back from walking the dog in the afternoon I ended up having a nap because all the warmth and joy had been sucked out of me and I didn’t feel like doing anything else…
When I woke up it was still miserable and I wanted something nice with a cup of tea, but we didn’t have anything nice so despite feeling a bit muzzy headed I made made some ‘buns’ using the simplest recipe I could find, which was a scaled down version of my mums rock bun recipe.
It was really easy and didn’t involve any thought..

“Cream 75g butter together with 75g caster sugar, mix in an egg, add 150g sifted S.R flour and any chocolate you can get your hands on, I had half a bar of cooking chocolate, which needs to be cut into chunks.
Spoon onto a baking sheet and bake at 180° for 18 minutes, eat two warm, in succession..”

buns

That did the job and I feel quite cheerful afterwards.

bun1

Because it was such a dreary day I decided comfort food was in order, so I made a chilli.

Chilli bowls

chilli prep

I made up a chilli with the mince, tomatoes and other bits and pieces.

Then made a couple of bowls out of two flour tortillas, and fried two more..

tortillas

and I did a few potato wedges with some left over mozzarella I had.

chill and pots

I was going to make guacamole but despite having a ripe and ready to eat label on it..

liars

The avocado was far from ripe enough to mash up, bloody liars!!
so I just diced up half.

chilli tortilla

it was really nice, warm and filling, and that’s when the cloud broke and some sun appeared, just as it was shining through the back window on to the telly, so we had to pull the curtains..
Typical eh!!

add chz

