Tags

, , , , ,

I thought I had more mushrooms, in fact I’m positive I put a punnet of forestière mushrooms and tender stem broccoli in my trolley while shopping, but I don’t recall packing them up, so it must have been someone elses trolley..

I went to my Mums at the weekend, we were really lucky with the weather, it was a beautiful day,we  could see the Isle of wight quite clearly..

beach

we did eat, but I didn’t take any pictures, it was quite nice not having to cook, even though it was a Waitrose curry, which was delicious nevertheless.

Wasn’t sure what to make for dinner when I got home, I’ve been terribly disorganised of late, I have a valid reason, but I’ll tell you that another day..

As ever, I had some chicken, so I decided to make a cobbler type thing, traditionally a British cobbler has a scone type topping, but this suet topping takes far less thought and time..

Chicken Cobbler:

 

chix cobbler prep

I made up a suet dough, 2oz suet, 4oz flour and enough water to bind it together, then I rolled it into tiny dumplings..

make dumplings

I cooked off the chicken, some bacon, leeks and mushrooms; I thought I had more mushrooms, in fact I’m positive I put a punnet of forestière mushrooms and tender stem broccoli in my trolley while shopping, but I don’t recall packing them up, so it must have been someone elses trolley..

cook chix

and made a sauce using some leftover cream..

make sauce

Then it was just a case of plonking the dumplings on the filling, I squashed them down a little bit..

add dumplings

and baking it in the oven until it looked done..

done

I was going to serve it with some fresh tender stem broccoli, but unfortunately, someone else had that, so I had a few ropy old green beans and a bit of not so fresh broccoli..

chix cobbler

It did look a little insipid I admit, in fact after he had eaten it, my husband said, that was much nicer than it looked,when I put my fork into it, I thought it was going to be yuckky..

chix 1

