Tags

, , , , , , ,

the upside of this means he get’s to eat real food for a little longer, I don’t envy him, no food for 6 weeks!!

To cut a very long story short, Mr 5 is due to go into hospital next week, where he will undergo TPN feeding for 6 weeks,  Total Parenteral Nutrition is a way of supplying all the nutritional needs of the body by bypassing the digestive system and dripping nutrient solution directly into a vein, it’s hoped this will shed some light onto the malabsorption and  Osteomalacia he has been suffering from this last year and also give  his digestion time to heal from the Crohn’s.

He was supposed to go in this Wednesday, but nothing ever goes to plan and there wasn’t a bed available, so it’s been put off until next week, the upside of this means he get’s to eat real food for a little longer, I don’t envy him, no food for 6 weeks!!
The downside, I was all thrown out and had to go food shopping on the hop because we had no food in the house, well we did, but not enough for two..

Because we thought it was going to be this week I cooked his ‘Last Supper’ on Tuesday, I said he could have whatever he wanted and he chose roast Lamb with Jersey royals..

with gravy

I decided that between now and then I would do as many of his favourite dinners as I could.

Morrison has just started to sell bacon ribs, which are a very traditional Irish dish that Mr 5 loves, which up until now have been difficult to get.

Bacon ribs and cabbage.

ribs

I soaked the ribs for half an hour then put them into a casserole dish, covered then in water and cooked them in the oven for 3 hours, I could have boiled them, but I didn’t fancy the kitchen stinking of boiled bacon and besides I think you get a better result by doing boiled bacon this way.

ribsz

I served them up with the traditional cabbage and potatoes..

with pots

and I made a soda bread, this time I used 100g Spelt flour and a 100g wholemeal flour
and some oat bran (which is meant to be brilliant for soaking up cholesterol – and is my new super healthy annoyance to everyone else) and buttermilk.

bread

I was gorgeous and when he has been and gone and come back, I’ll do them again.
Suffice to say this week has been a very weird one indeed..

