Tags

, , , , ,

When the quinoa was done, I strained it, tasted it, chucked it in the bin and made some cous cous instead..

I decided to make a North African spiced chicken dish using these beautiful white and black peppers..

peppers

Some quinoa that I’ve been meaning to use since the chicken Fiasco and some wholemeal pitta bread.

I’ve called it Indrican chicken because as an afterthought I added a spoonful of Madras curry powder to my marinade, so it’s a fusion of African and Indian flavours, (I’ve always wanted to use the word fusion to describe something, it sounds chic, modern and gastro pub’ish.. lol)

Indrican Chicken:

chix prep

I made up a marinade of Moroccan spices (courtesy of Schwartz), a spoonful of Madras Curry powder, sumac, lemon, chilli flakes and oil and left it while I sorted out the dough.

marinade chix

I’d made a dough earlier using chapati flour, I have a large bag of the stuff which I wanted to start using up, some spelt flour and some oatbran, Oatbran is my new thing, it’s brilliant, among other things it absorbs excess blood cholesterol.

As well as the pitta breads.

pitta

I made some Chelsea buns, with a splash of rum..

wholemeal buns

I put the chicken in the oven and boiled the quinoa as suggested on the packet.

I cut the peppers up, added some cumin, fennel and caraway seeds.

peppers etc

Then I roasted them in the oven too..

roast veg

When the quinoa was done, I strained it, tasted it, chucked it in the bin and made some cous cous instead..

quinoa

This stuff looks vile, smells vile and tastes vile, if I knew what the bottom of a very elderly, sick, incontinent budgies cage was like, I’d liken it to this stuff, I may have a 3rd time lucky attempt, but I’m not convinced..

Fortunately everything else was absolutely delicious..

The cous cous and black eyed beans..

bnz and cous cous

The peppers, although the black ones disappointingly go green when cooked..

with peppers

and the chicken was beautiful, I could really taste the different spices..

IA chicken

I thoroughly enjoyed it.

chicken AI

I shall definitely make something similar again, but the quinoa.. pah!!!!

