Tags

, , , , , ,

Homemade fishcakes are so easy, and so much nicer than anything you could buy in the shops, this would work equally well with a tin of tuna..

A little while ago I made some not very nice Thai spiced, tuna fishcakes, I used sweet potato, they were too sweet for me, Mr 5 liked them though..

I had a piece of tuna, wasn’t sure what to do with it, it was very tiny and rather expensive so I thought fishcakes would make it go further, I also had 3 large flat mushrooms, I decided to stuff them, a weird combination, but really nice..

So, still with a Thai twist, these are

Tuna and sweetcorn Fishcakes:

fishcake prep

I chopped up the tuna

mince tuna

I seasoned it with grated ginger, grated lemon grass, lemon juice, some Thai 7 spice seasoning, a dollop of sweet chilli sauce and a small chilli, I had run out of fresh coriander but if I’d had some I’d have used that too.

then I mixed that together with a couple of cold mashed up potatoes, left over from the bacon ribs dinner and some sweetcorn, molded it into fish cake shapes and stuck it in the fridge to firm up before I panéd them.

 
make cakes

I made up a mushroom duxelle of sorts, I sweated off some finely chopped white onion, added a diced mushroom, then seasoning, breadcrumbs, parsley, a sprinkling of oatbran and a dollop of Philadelphia cream cheese and piled in it to the mushrooms.

duxelle

Covered them in breadcrumbs

add breadcrumbs

I put them in the oven at the same time as the fish cakes, which I’d panéd by then.

fishcake

I served the fishcakes with a simple stir fry of vegetables which I added lemon juice to..

stir fry

They were really lovely, much nicer than the ones I’d made with sweet potato.

Homemade fishcakes are so easy, and so much nicer than anything you could buy in the shops, this would work equally well with a tin of tuna..
This is my 5th Fishcake version..

Smoked Mackerel Fishcakes
Smoked Haddock Fishcakes
Fishcakes Benedict
Thai tuna fishcakes

stuffed mush

The mushroom, albeit a strange side dish went really well..

fish and mush

