Tags

, , , , ,

despite not being entirely sure what I was going to do even after I’d taken the ingredients photo, this turned out far better than I expected, I’m glad I made it..

A little while ago thiswasdinner made a pea and ham lasagne which looked amazing despite the fact it had peas in it, I don’t mind peas, they aren’t my favourite of things, but it was the inspiration for the lasagne I made last night, now Mr 5 is in hospital I can freely gorge myself on pasta to my hearts content, if want to that is..

By the time I got home yesterday, the last thing I wanted to do was faff about making anything, and the thought of egg and chips was a far better prospect to be honest, but I don’t want to start getting into a habit of not being bothered to make anything nice just because I’m on my own, so made myself do this, and besides the fresh lasagne wasn’t going to last in the fridge much longer, I’d bought it a week ago, despite not being entirely sure what I was going to do even after I’d taken the ingredients photo, this turned out far better than I expected, I’m glad I made it..

Prosciutto and sweet pepper lasagne:

I roasted some sweet peppers and onion in a little olive oil and when almost done added a few cherry tomatoes, then some prosciutto, to crispen it up.

In the meantime I made a simple tomato sauce using diced cherry tomatoes, some red onion, garlic, basil and quite a bit of red wine, which I reduced down and then thinned out with a little passata.

tom sce

I blanched the lasagne rounds, cut them out before, not afterwards (I tried both ways)  I coud’ve just left them as sheets in retrospect, but at the time I wasn’t sure where this was going.

Then I wilted some baby leaf spinach which I picked out of a bag of mixed salad.

Then assembled it.

peppers onto the lasagne.

add peppers

Sauce on top of that.

add tom sauce

Then spinach and mozzarella

mozz

Then the prosciutto

add prosc

I did that 3 more times..

layers

Covered it with a little Parmesan and stuck it in the oven for 10 minutes.

lasagne

I had it with a some garlic bread which I didn’t make, it was beautiful.
with Gb

I was really pleased with the result, it was really tasty.

It’s given me a few ideas for other dishes I can make with lasagne sheets..
I’m glad I made it..
and if you omit the prosciutto you have a perfectly acceptable vegetarian dish.

oozy mozz

