Tags

, , , ,

Despite following his instructions my bread did not rise with a ‘lip’, I don’t know why and was not really bothered that it didn’t.

The inspiration for this dinner was from a recipe by Paul Hollywood, Trencher bread with lamb and pink peppercorns.

I adapted the bread recipe and used a piece of fillet steak instead of lamb, I warm water bathed the steak for 3 hours prior to cooking it.

Trencher bread sandwich:

steak prep

I made the bread using

  • 125g chapati flour and spelt flour mix
  • 50g rye flour
  • 70g strong white flour/ 5g oat bran
  • 1g instant yeast
  • 5g salt
  • 170ml water

dough

Despite following his instructions my bread did not rise with a ‘lip’, I don’t know why and was not really bothered that it didn’t.

bread done

so I just cut a piece and then halved it, topped it with some watercress, rocket and cherry tomatoes.

 

bread

 

I fried some onions until they were crispy and then I cooked the steak in the pan I’d used, to save on washing up mainly.

steak

Then I put the sliced steak onto the bread, added some mushrooms and the onions.

rare steak

I added a slice of Camembert, I wasn’t sure how well it would go, but turned out ok in the end..

with camembert

That was very nice indeed, in fact it would have been just as nice with only the Camembert.

mushrooms

