Tags

, ,

he asked me if I wanted a baby rabbit, I assumed he wasn’t talking about one for a pet, some how I don’t think it would last long with Parker about anyway,

For want of a better description, my mums boyfriend is I suppose groundskeeper, gardener, estate manager cum game keeper at a large house in the country,  when I went round to visit last week he asked me if I wanted a baby rabbit, I assumed he wasn’t talking about one for a pet, some how I don’t think it would last long with Parker about anyway, so naturally, not one to turn down free food I said yes and came home with a freshly shot, skinned, gutted rabbit.

rabbit 1

I decided that as it was just me, I’d freeze half of it, the other half, I made into a sort of fricasse.

Cider rabbit with wild rice:

rabbit prep

I cooked off the onion, then the mushroom and put it to one side.

cook mush

Then I floured the rabbit.

flour rabbit

and fried it off.

brown rabbit

I put the mushrooms and onions back in along with a good glug or 3 of cider, put the lid on and left it to gently cook.

cook in cider

I added a dollop of wholegrain mustard and some cream and cooked it out until I had a sauce.

cream and mustard

I served it with wild rice.

fricasse

it was gorgeous, it could of done with being cooked a little longer but I was so hungry and it was almost 7.30pm ,  I couldn’t wait any longer..

rabbit

The other half I shall probably make into a pie or casserole.

rabbit fricasse

