Tags

, , ,

so if you think pork cheeks need hours of cooking, they don’t, bashing the shit out of them works just as well..

Last week I was leafing through a magazine at my mums when I thought I saw either and article or recipe for pan fried pork cheeks, I don’t know why I didn’t read it properly, but I did go away thinking it was a good idea.
I bought some pork cheeks and then decided to have a quick butch on line to see if there were any recipes for them, there wasn’t, which is a surprise, because no matter what I come up with that I think is unique, someone has done it before somewhere. All the recipes and articles I found suggested braising them for several hours but as I’ve already done that, with Pork cheeks and beans.

fried pork cheek prep

I decided that I’d just tenderise the meat another way..

Pan fried Breaded pork cheeks

By bashing them with a meat mallet for a good 5 minutes..

bash

I seasoned them, then panéd them using left over double cream instead of egg.

pane

Then I pan fried them..

breaded cheeks

I served them with some potato rough

potato rough

and some slightly, yellowing broccoli, I disguised this fact with some chilli cheddar, which I have almost used up now.

disguised broccoli

I was fully expecting to sit down to some tough old meat, but was pleasantly surprised to find it wasn’t, so if you think pork cheeks need hours of cooking, they don’t, bashing the shit out of them works just as well..

