Tags

, , , ,

die hard Bolognese aficionados would probably insist that unless the popular Italian sauce contained panchetta, carrots and was simmered in the light of a waxing gibbous moon, it couldn’t be called Bolognese,

As I’m having a bit of a pastafest this month and I had half a pack of mince leftover from the oxtail consomme raft I’ve made, I thought a Bolognese would be a good idea.

There are a multitude of recipes for Bolognese sauce out there and die hard Bolognese aficionados would probably insist that unless the popular Italian sauce contains Panchetta, carrots and is simmered by the light of a waxing, gibbous moon, it couldn’t be called Bolognese, as far as I’m concerned if it has mince and tomatoes in it, it’s Bolognese, feel free to disagree.

oh and horrors of horrors, I like to add mushrooms to mine, so maybe I should call this a funghinese

Unauthentic Bolognese:

bol prep

I cooked off some onion, added some garlic, oregano and then the mince, and cooked that until it was brown, then I added the mushrooms and cooked them.

add shrooms

After that I added some diced tomato and passata

add passata

Mixed it together, seasoned it and added a ladle of oxtail stock that was cooking away on the back..

I cooked that out until the stock had reduced to a nice thick sauce..

cook out

and that was it..

I served it with spaghetti

forkful

and garlic bread

oregano sprig

There was far too much and for the first time in ages I didn’t clear my plate, usually I make just a little more than I think I need, but this was a massive portion.

with GB

I was lovely, garlicky, meaty,and mushroomy..

So I’m afraid I don’t really care if it wasn’t authentic, it tasted gorgeous

