Tags

, , , ,

my own version of Thiswasdinner’s spicy bean tostadas with pickled onions and radish, you should check out her blog, she has some great menu ideas on there..

My mother in law flew over from Eire to see her boy on Monday, I think she was in a bit of a panic after hearing he was in HDU, I could hardly blame her, he was a poorly bunny, but he is getting better.
We went out for lunch on Tuesday, Cafe Rouge and I had a croque Monsieur and by dinner time, although I was hungry I didn’t really fancy a big meal so I decided to make my own version of Thiswasdinner’s spicy bean tostadas with pickled onions and radish, you should check out her blog, she has some great menu ideas on there..

I only had flour tortillas so I brushed them with oil and popped them in the oven for a few minutes.

Bean and prosciutto Tostadas: with lime pickled onion.

tostadas prep

 

I made a ‘refried bean’ concoction using peppers, tomatoes, kidney beans and some taco seasoning.

beans

and cooked it out until it was soft.

cooked bnz

I did my lime pickled onions with peppers.

onions

I piled some beans onto a quarter of tortilla, added a little crispy prosciutto, I had a piece left in the fridge, but they would be perfect with out it and suitable for a vegetarian meal, I added some cheese just for luck.

topping

Melted it a bit..

plate

and..
ta da
Tostadas

It also gave me the chance to use two lovely cabo tapas plates I bought from John Lewis

 

they were really tastey, I’m glad she gave me the inspiration.

with onion

I made a ‘double decker chicken version last night which I’ll post up in the next few days..

tostadas

