Tags

, , , , , , , ,

 I wasn’t sure if I was going to pull it off without the right pan, but decided that my Spanish glazed pottery dish would be up to the job,

This tart tatin has been on my bucket list for months,  I saw something similar on the food and drink programme back in the winter and knew I’d have to try my hand, I wasn’t sure if I was going to pull it off without the right pan, but decided that my Spanish glazed pottery dish would be up to the job, it’s so amazingly non stick, I’ve cooked rolls in it and even a pastryless quiche and it was, I’m glad I bought it when I saw it, only 4 quid out of T.K MAXX..

I decided I was going to put some prosciutto in mine, but it would have been just as good without, in fact I’m going to make it again and do a cheese and onion one and an apple one.

Sweet pepper, red onion and prosciutto tart tatin:

I bought pastry, couldn’t be arsed making any, but it was 30% less fat, which justifies it if you ask me..

tatin prep

I put about 4oz of butter into a pan added some sugar and bubbled it up..

butter

Then I put in the onions and slowly browned them,  added about a dessert spoon of balsamic vinegar and the sweet peppers and leeks..

onions

and I cooked them until they were soft, brown and slightly caramelized..

I heated my glazed dish up in the oven, added some butter and then arranged the vegetables in the dish, and put the prosciutto on top

put in dish

I put a round of pastry on the top and tucked it down a little bit..

pastry

Then I baked it until the pastry was brown

bake

In the meantime I cooked some cherry tomatoes in the remaining buttery pan juices.

I flipped the tart out onto a board..

flip out

and was over the moon with the result..

It looked brilliant..

with toms

I was was more than pleased with it.

tart tatin

I had it with some left over cous cous from the stuffed peppers the night before

with cous cous

It was so delicious I ate it all..

